Gingernuts

Here it is, the first official photo of Not Cat. Beautiful or what?

By last night I’d had Not Cat some seventy-two hours, but given the flea scenario and then the trip to Mother’s, I’d given him less attention and fewer cuddles than you might expect. Which I offer as way of excuse for my belated discovery.

After we left Mother’s flat and were back in the guest room, I put some fresh food down for Not Cat and then began to prepare for bed. He sauntered over and I watched him go. His backlegs seemed strangely stiff; he had a John Wayne after a long day in the saddle look about him. Onto my mind’s eye flashed an image of Sonny, our semi-feral and local kitten father and the way he walks.

Surely not.

His meal over, Not Cat came over to me and rolled on his back. Much less squirmy than previously. I sat on the floor with him, and rubbed his tummy, and took a look at his nether regions. His testicles were tucked discreetly under the base of his tail.

At home in London, there’s a new ginger who has appeared locally, and you certainly don’t need binoculars to see he’s intact. He carries his tail proudly aloft as though more than happy to display his virility, a bit like men who wear unfeasibly tight jeans. Sonny favours the lowered tail; Mysterious Macho, the feline equivalent of baggy trousers; surf shorts rather than Speedos.


I was told Not Cat was about three years old. But he’s not spraying, and he’s certainly not a Smelly Tom. Could he be a very young male cat whose testicles have not yet fully descended? I searched my brain for information about young male cats sexual development and found I know next to nothing about the subject. Despite years of watching Animal Hospital and Pet Rescue, I am completely ignorant on the subject of descended and undescended testicles in cats. I blame Rolf.

Let’s recap; I wanted a ginger, feisty, older, neutered cat, with a thick tail and a stocky build. I’ve got a ginger, sweet, intact, possibly very young cat, with a thick tail and a slight build. Would I swap him? No way. Or at least not unless he starts spraying before the snip.

The irony of it all. Cat was neutered and macho. Not Cat is intact and is not macho at all, unless that’s going to come into his make up when he grows up. I had even been wondering if he might be that rare animal, a female ginger cat.

I’m looking forward to what the vet says.

16 thoughts on “Gingernuts

  1. A lovely cat, Isobel … I hope he’ll be a good companion for many years.

    I thought I saw a rat dashing in undergrowth in the garden today … if the dogs won’t keep them away, we may need to get another cat. The last one killed a lot of rats.

  2. He’s handsome, Isobel! He sounds as though he has a lovely nature, letting you give him a tummy rub already. More pics when you’re ready, with or without testicles. I’m not fussy.

  3. Does his tail have a white tip? We had a rescue cat once who we called Ginger Jasper… and he was very like your Not Cat, with a white tail tip.

  4. He’s a beauty and looks quite young. All the intact adult male cats I’ve seen have large, macho-looking heads, which Not Cat hasn’t, but I don’t know at what age that happens.
    He does look like a she. I’ve met about 3 ginger females; they were all slightly built and rather more apricot than ginger – much more subtle colouring than males.

    You can tell me I’m talking rubbish if you wish, Isobel. After all, I am a dog person. 🙂

  5. I think he’s very pretty, but am now wondering if he’ll turn out to be a big ginger ex-male when he finishes growing, which I should love.
    I need to ask the students why they think he’s three years old, or if that was what the owner who didn’t want him had said.
    Mother called him New Freddy today. He’s still wary of her.
    I can’t say i love him yet, but I am certainly starting to get fond of him.

  6. When male cats are first neutered they still have the sac that used to hold their testicles – so it maybe he has been done and still has that, which may explain the situation.

    “Many male cats still have the appearance of having testicles due to the way the surgery is performed. Only the testicles are removed. The multi-layer sheath that surrounds the testicles is left as well as the scrotal skin. Once healed, this can give the appearance of testicles when actually it’s just layers of tissue and skin.”

    http://www.askthecatdoctor.com/my-male-cat-was-neutered-but-still-appears-to-have-testicles.html

    • Thanks for that Pseu. So maybe he has been neutered after all. I’m glad he’s already booked in for vaccinations and microchipping. The sooner I know the better. He’s gaining in confidence and tonight has been walking about with his tail held high , jan may get that photograph if he does the same tomorrow, but my camera is upstairs and I’m still at Mother’s because she is very restless again. Not Cat is the bedroom with her at the moment.

  7. I am a little worried about your christening him ‘Not Cat’, Isobel.

    Don’t you think his self-esteem might be somewhat diminished? Constantly wondering what was so special about his predecessor, worrying all the time whether he matches up?

    That’s a sure ticket to delinquency in my opinion.

  8. As you know Isobel, I am completely biased, but what a handsome boy he is!

    You wouldn’t have had this surprise if you had been accepted by a shelter 😛 As Pseu has highlighted, some neutered toms do keep a little ‘package’ (Mackenzie has) but the alternative is that he’s an extremely young cat because full tomcats urine stinks as soon as they hit adolescence. I’m glad he’s at the vet with you on Tuesday.

    I hope you’ve had lots of proper cuddles now and your Mother is settled back at home 😀

Leave a Reply

