December at the South Bank

After all my posts about the South Bank in the summer, you might have thought of it as a place I only visit from May to September. But I’ll be there tomorrow morning, I was there last night, and on Sunday afternoon.
The book sellers are there all year round. This one, at a guess, is a Private Eye fan. Coincidentally, I saw ian Hislop at the National last night. It turned out there had just been a book launch for a new volume from Eye.

Wimmin

Wimmin


The winter festival is fun, but a bit busy for my taste. My friend and I took the stairs to the upper level so we could enjoy it from a distance.
Winter Festival

Winter Festival


Naturally I had to take a photograph of a bicycle. That’s Charing Cross station to the right. designed by Terry Farrell, it represents a train coming out of a tunnel. The Jubilee foot bridge croses the river, replacing the old Hungerford Bridge which used to scare me rigid.
Red Bike

Red Bike


This is probably a more traditional view to photograph from the South Bank.
St Paul's
It is often quite difficult to get photos of this statue of Laurence Olivier without hoards of people around it. It is outside the National Theatre, his brainchild, and I was at the Olivier last night to see The Magistrate which is a thoroughly enjoyable farce
My friend lives at Blackfriars, so we walked back to the flat to join her husband and enjoy some early evening drinks and nibbles. We passed the Oxo Tower and headed for warmth as the sun sank.
The Oxo Tower

The Oxo Tower

9 thoughts on “December at the South Bank

  1. How funny, to get a hit of enjoyment at the OXO tower. I use my OXO food-mill at least three times a week to make my cats’ food. And my fabulous garlic-bean dip. Love the OXO food mill even if the round handle has (as we say down here in Southrun USA) “come a-loose” and keeps trying to run off and hide somewhere. No matter. Still love the OXO food mill.

      • 1 can fava or navy beans
        2-3 cloves garlic (depending on size & yr taste)
        1/3 cup olive oil
        1/4 cup lemon juice
        1/2 teaspoon salt (I always omit this; don’t need it)
        1/4 teaspoon cumin
        1/4 teaspoon red pepper or cayenne flakes (not powder — but I use hot sauce & it works fine)
        1/2 teaspoon paprika (I usually forget this)
        1 tablespoon parsley garnish (I don’t bother).

        Add beans, olive oil, lemon juice, & garlic to food processor (or OXO food mill in my case). Blend well; add remaining ingredients. You want a puree, not runny but not thick either.

        You’re supposed to transfer to saucepan & heat. I never; all I do is spread it on bread, top with grated asiago cheese, & put in toaster-oven. YUM. Let me know how you like.

    • Have a great time Julia. Are you going to visit Dazzle, the jewellery exhib and sale at the National? I have some cards and bits and pieces for sale in a little gallery not far from Tate Modern on Great Suffolk Street.

Leave a Reply

