Fourth Stone: Trepidation

I was out when the postman called yesterday. There is a card. Something to collect from the sorting office; signature required.
I am wary. It sounds official, something to tell me I have overlooked a form, maybe committed a bureaucratic transgression. I have to fetch it; I don’t want to fetch it, but curiosity wins.
I go to the counter, show my identity.I receive an A5 envelope. A brown envelope. The writing is unfamiliar. There is no return address. In the street I open it. I breathe again and smile. It is a cheque for a calendar of photos of my cat.

16 thoughts on “Fourth Stone: Trepidation

  1. Pingback: My Top Six List | My Paradise

Leave a Reply

