The View From the Shard

Tomorrow the View From the Shard officially opens. Regular visitors to this page will know that I am a bit of a fan. I have posted many pictures of the Shard’s exterior, and that I have been lucky enough to visit it twice during the preview period.
On my second visit I looked around the shop and succumbed to a book. I was sorely tempted by this cuddly toy too.

Romeo the Fox

Romeo the Fox


I have posted lots of pictures of urban foxes here over the last couple of years, but, so far as I am aware, none of the foxes that frequent our garden have made it onto national television.
Romeo, the real fox, whose story is told by the cuddly toys, stole a march on all of us by living on the upper floors of the Shard for a couple of weeks while it was under construction. He survived on scraps of food left behind by the workers. Rescued, he was given a full check over and then released back into the streets of Bermondsey, where he is said to have turned his back on high rise living and disappeared into the night.
You can read more about him here.
One of my friends was disappointed there wasn’t a photograph of him on display.

6 thoughts on “The View From the Shard

Leave a Reply

