Tonight’s Debate

I saw a Stonewall poster the other week. It said something like, Some people are gay. Get over it.
Living in London, while homophobia certainly exists, it isn’t the same deal as in other parts of the country where a lot of isms still run wildly. I have gay friends, male and female. It doesn’t matter to them that I am straight, and it doesn’t matter to me that they are gay. What does matter is that they are my friends; people whose company I enjoy, who I admire and love.
So it’s not surprising that I support the result of tonight’s vote in Parliament. I’ve been to a brilliant Civil Partnership party, I am now looking forward to being invited to my first gay wedding.
I had a Christian upbringing, and the important Christian message that I still hold dear is one of love. Not a conditional love; the Old Testament might have been into throwing stones and calling all sorts of things and people abominations, but the New Testament, the teachings of Christ, are about loving your neighbour as yourself, loving the dispossessed, loving the helpless, loving your enemies, in short, loving everyone.
I know it is not an easy injunction. No one has said that Christianity, even for those of us who don’t have faith, maybe especially for those of us who don’t have faith, is easy. I am as guilty of unreasoned prejudice as the next person. But recently a gay woman who I know was explaining to me how impossible it was for her partner to tell her family of their relationship, how she has to disappear when the family visits, how she could be stopped from attending her partner’s funeral should she die, and I was shocked. The idea of being in a loving relationship and not being able to share that with your family who you also love for fear you will be rejected, sounds to me like a recipe for stress and mental illness. Not acknowledging that gay couples love each other and that that love should be sanctified by marriage if that’s what they want, is surely an act of cruelty and discrimination. As the song goes, Love and Marriage Go Together Like a Horse and Carriage. Doesn’t quite sound the same where you substitute Civil Partnership for marriage, does it?
Let’s be glad that people love each other and celebrate diversity and support gay couples in loving marriages, and stock up on the chamapagne.

8 thoughts on “Tonight’s Debate

  1. I am with you 100%. As more people have the courage to speak up in support for giving GLBT the right to love and enjoy the legal status that goes with marriage, the more I think social mores will change. It is here in the states – although there is still a lot of hatred that can threaten life.

  2. It is sad that to do so can still be an act of courage. Slowly attitudes are changing. I hope in a few years we’ll look back at this landmark and wonder what all the fuss was about.

Leave a Reply

