The Eve of the Funeral

A lovely message tonight from my cousin Helen about my mother and hers. He mother is Aunt Kath best of aunts, who I have blogged about before. They were travelling from Gozo, where they live, to Malta, to get Aunt Kath, now ninety-seven, fitted with hearing aids. Aunt Kath was very concerned about the traffic jam, and they could not get her to understand they were on the ferry. On the way back, fitted with the hearing aids, she understood why she was surrounded by stationary cars.
Dad’s cousin would love to come to the funeral but her husband has dementia and she cannot leave him. My outfit has been approved by my friend Carol. When I told her Mum had died and when the funeral was, her first words were, “Well, you’ll need a haircut.”
MasterB is up close and personal. He seems to have discovered lap sitting about twelve years earlier in his life than Cat did.
I read my tribute to Mum over the ‘phone to a friend and she cried. Is that good or bad?
By this time tomorrow Mum will be cremated. The mourners will have dispersed. For some, maybe most, it will be over, but for her closest family, a new era begins without her. That’s when it gets hard. I hope some of her terrier spirit is in me. I think I’ll need it.

26 thoughts on “The Eve of the Funeral

  1. Oh Isobel.

    My thoughts are with you for tomorrow. It is fearfully difficult to imagine saying a final goodbye, but strangely, I think about my mother’s funeral and all those who attended, and it was not such an awful ordeal, and it was lovely to see all her friends and our family gathered together and we talked about her with great fondness afterwards.

    I hope it all goes well,

    Much love to you and say goodbye to your mother from me. xx

    • That is what we hope for with Mother’s funeral. My father’s was a good funeral, and afterwards the gathering was something he would have loved. That was the saddest part of the day in some ways.

  2. The stillness in the after-time is hardest…. As you say, the funeral ends this time for many, but a new phase will only begin for you. I keep you in my thoughts, Isobel.

  3. I agree that the quiet time after everything is over is hard….but you have MasterB to bring cheer to your heart. My thoughts and prayers are with you!

  4. I have been thinking about you today. Tomorrow ( Thurs) and the days to come may be even more odd, but you will investigate and explore and play like any good terrier 🙂

Leave a Reply

