Of Clutter, Charity Shops and Evening Sunshine

Another bag of my cull handed into the second hand bookshop in the hope that the owner may buy some of them. Only pin money, but after years of giving them shelf room, it’d be nice to get a little something back. Really, I am only tinkering with the books; identifying a volume here and there; finding a new home for the Chronicles of Narnia with my namesake over the wall; seeing how many books from the boxes can now be squeezed into the new space.
In the bedroom, I emptied a drawer for the first time in years and came face to face with my scarf collection. How ever did I acquire so many? And how many pairs of walking socks does one woman need?
A black pashmina that was a gift that I’ve never worn is headed for my neighbour. The moneybelt I wore at school (how did that survive until now?) has already been passed to MasterB’s playdate who moves to secondary school in the autumn. A bag of disparate objects, including some scarves, have gone to the Trinity Hospice Charity Shop. Some of the things aren’t fit for resale. Two bags so far have gone to the textile recycling bank, and there’s another ready to go. Why don’t seem to have any more room?
Tomorrow I have my eye on some trousers that I think have had their day, and a couple of blouses I only keep ‘just in case’. But tonight I relocated to the garden with MsterB, the supplements from the weekend papers I hadn’t read (yeh! Clare Clark has a novel out in paperback that I didn’t even know was in hardback) and my camera. I had hissed and growled effectively from the bathroom window at a black and white who has taken to fighting MasterB first thing this morning when I was cald only in a towel, but this was my first sit down in our June sunshine.
I love the light at this time of day at this time of year.

35 thoughts on “Of Clutter, Charity Shops and Evening Sunshine

  1. I buy my books only in charity shops and now and then discover a real nice piece of clothing there too. After I am done with it, it goes back to the shop. We’ve got something like a mini-traid going on, me and the charity shop 3 streets down…

  2. I am sorry but the thought of you hissing and growling at a black and white cat that was picking on your ginger boy has put me in a fit of giggles.. πŸ˜€ Master B’s tongue curled up over his nose takes me back to when I was a kid and we all used to challenge each other to do just what he does so well! If I could concentrate long enough I would like to spend the time to learn how to do the collage. I was jealous of Laurel’s collage today and she was inspired by you. The collage thing.. πŸ™‚ You are giving us all collage envy!!! Pretty pictures Isobel.

  3. Beautiful photos. I find it feels good to clear out a few things every once in awhile. My goal is to clear things out without bringing more in between clearings.

      • πŸ˜€ Good luck! We are getting better, however. In addition to asking if we really want to pay for it, we also ask if we want to take care of it and store it. At this stage in our lives the answer is usually no. Boring but practical.

        • I think you have hit the nail nicely on the head with that comment, Pam.
          We spend the first half of our lives acquiring things and the second half trying to get rid of them.

  4. Having a good clear out always feels good – you find things you’d forgotten you had and get rid of things you could only WISH to fit in again. I too only buy my books in a second-hand store and recycle them back when I’ve finished reading them. That photo of your boy with his tongue on his nose is – well – priceless. πŸ˜€

    Pam

    • Thanks Pam. I have gone through periods of only reading books from the library then reading something i have to have on my bookshelf, like Wolf Hall. I buy less books than I used to, but I think they breed overnight. Yes, the clothes I should like to fit in again fill quite a bit of space… πŸ™‚

  5. I need clearing too. I admire your determinations to do so!
    I like your flowers and how MasterB’s bell matches his nose

  6. I can learn from you and attempt to get rid of some stuff. But if I walk into a charity shop I’ll head straight for the books and then I’ll be in trouble. Nice photos. The weather has been great lately.

      • Do charity shops ever pick up stuff from people’s flats? I don’t have a car, but I want to get rid of some stuff and I would like a charity that has the capability to come to my flat to take the stuff away.

        • Yes they do. British Heart Foundation has shops where it sells larger items of furniture and checked electricals. Not sure if Emmaus has a London presence, but it’d probably be worth checking the site and seeing what links are there. Or just go into your local charity shop and ask about collections.
          Do you belong to Freecycle?

Leave a Reply

