A Day Out of London

I managed a quick meal between games.
I have been out all day, and MasterB was flatteringly pleased to see me. He wanted to play. So he has been doing athletic leaps and dives after various toys I have tossed in the air; chased convincingly after bouncy things, and then left them like a footballer who sees the ball is going out of play; been very competitive in a game of tug of war with the multicoloured string that was once wrapped around a mouse toy until Mother unravelled it; headbutted, purred and enjoyed some rumbustious playfighting. Now he has gone out into an evening where the weather has anticipated Wimbledon by around ten days. Yes, tonight it is grey and damp in London.
Yesterday, I downloaded a couple of apps onto the iPad for him to play with. Nephew had assured me that his friend’s cat loves them. MasterB watched, but didn’t seem to understand that he was supposed to pat the screen, or rather he did pat the screen a couple of times, getting a rather miserly score, but seemed disinclined to repeat the performance. String is evidently superior.

Cat App

Cat App


I don’t know if there are apps to entertain chickens yet. This littel hen was hard to photograph as she was on the go the whole time. She’s a rare breed, but I don’t know which one. She has wonderfully feathered ankles.
Black Hen

Black Hen


These two sweet-faced donkeys were more compliant. The grass helped of course.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Papa llama was on the alert, watching the footpath, while Mama and Baby relaxed in the long grass.
Papa Llama

Papa Llama

Mama and Baby

Mama and Baby


Despite the dull skies, it stayed dry, and the vibrancy of the flowers made up for the colourless heavens.
Red Poppy

Red Poppy

Pink Poppy

Pink Poppy

Buttercups

Buttercups

21 thoughts on “A Day Out of London

  1. Grey skies or not, everyone in these photos looks happy to be in such a lush and lovely place.
    I side with the cat in the app department. String wins.

  2. I need to get out to the Cotswolds! An app for cats. I wonder if there is one for Miles. Att won’t play, but Miles loves games.

  3. Hi there!
    Tue black hen has instantly reminded me of Minorquian hen breed. My daughter and husband breed them at their farmhome near Maó.
    And … I wasn’t aware cats are supplied with digital games: ooooooH!
    How I do like your flower photos, Isobel … !

  4. Lovely photos Isobel……MasterB looks a bit befuddled by the iPad – perhaps he’s an old fashioned guy like Sam – preferring the ratty, tatty cat toy to the screen!

    Pam

    • It is the first time he has shown any interest in the iPad at all, so maybe it is worth trying again. I don’t know. I was hoping it mighht be a tame he could play on his own – feline solitaire sort of thing. 🙂

    • The baby llama was sweet. I kept a wary eye on Papa in case he got near and spat!
      It was a little light that zoomed about the page. I may try it again, but I am not hopeful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

