Technological Nonagenarian

It was good to see Aunt. She was looking very natty in a pretty lilac blouse under a beaded wine purple cardigan. Her was freshly done in soft white waves and there were roses in her cheeks. She showed me the new lights in her flat she has had installed to help with her AMD. They are most effective, and the ceiling ones in the sitting room are attractive too. Next she wanted to practise her Samsung tablet skills. She turned it on, swiped the screen until she found the email icon while I watched, impressed.
I’m not very good at this, she said, in direct contrast to what I was thinking. She is very hard on herself.
But things really took off a while later when she was talking about a book she wanted but thought was out of print. We found it on Amazon, the ebook version, and I bought it for her as an early Christmas gift. When she opened the Kindle app on her tablet and saw it there, her face was a picture if wonderment. I wish I had a photograph. It’s a new way of living, she said, round-eyed.

I wasn’t sure about introducing her to online shopping just yet, but she whipped out her debit card and we added it to her account. I shall forgive her if she uses mine instead. She practised finding the Kindle icon a few times more and said she was happy with the font size.
How amazing she is. She can see that this technology would be helpful and is keen to embrace it. She needs more practice in the company of someone of whom she can ask questions and who will allow her to work at her own speed with plenty of repetition. I have tried and failed to find such a person, but we haven’t given up yet. One friend said he would help, but then planned to take the tablet away to use himself so that he could learn. That was a no deal. However, for all she rates her progress lowly, I can see she has made great strides.
Go, Aunt! Life begins at ninety

19 thoughts on “Technological Nonagenarian

    • We talked about friends helping today and felt that someone who had a regular commitment would be better. Finding someone local who has been vetted is proving harder than expected. At this time of year and given her increasing frailty it would be better to have someone come to her home.

    • The key, I believe, is time and confidence. St first she thought she could do irreparable damage if she hit the wrong key. Now she knows that if she gets lost she just touches the home icon and she can begin again.

  1. With my Ma I find giving the time to figure it out on her own is paramount. “Helpers” in terms of the tach-savvy people who live with her get fed up but in time, she’s with it. Something i am working on: understanding how my elders now, as we would say, process information. Not sure they would think of it in those terms.

    • I know sometimes I rush her because I live far away and so can’t help.her as much as much as I’d like. But we keep returning to the same things and she is getting there. Overcoming her fear that she might break it has been a big step.

    • I am. Very. At first she was concerned that she wouldn’t be able to use all the.different things it can do.constant reassurance that I probably use less than a thousandth of my.computer’s capability has removed some of the pressure she felt. I hope that she will gradually add to the repertoire of how she uses it so that it makes life easier for her and helps her keep her independence.

Leave a Reply

