Hoping for a Happy Ending

Do I only write about cats these days? It seems like it.
Just over a year ago my neighbour Carol and I rescued Izzy, a young kitten full of vim and mischief. That raised my awareness of the number of animals unceremoniously abandoned over the Christmas period. As I walked backwards and forwards from visiting Fang, I wondered if I might stumble across another needy kitten.
But it wasn’t a kitten, and it was much closer to home. In our garden, sheltering in an upturned pallet wedged between the binshed and the wall, I found an adult white and black cat.
She hissed at me.
I had found the explanation for MasterB’s reluctance to use the garden and his worried glances towards this corner in particular.
Nothing for it, I thought. I shall have to make friends with her and then move her on. That was yesterday.

My first offer of food had her out of her hiding place and eating hungrily. Seeing the whole of her was a shock. She is skin and bone. You can see the outline of the pelvis and then her body caves in dramatically. She sniffed my hand so I felt pretty sure she wasn’t feral. I called the vet for advice. I didn’t want to make her ill by giving her too much food in one go.
Three more small meals yesterday. Clean bowls each time.
She hissed at me when I gave her breakfast this morning, and then I went to work. A neighbour fed her in the middle of the day. This evening I went out with a clean bowl and more food, calling to her as I went through the gate. Gratifyingly she appeared at once, vocalising, but not hissing. She tucked in and let me stroke her. It seems that in twenty four hours she has understood I do not mean her harm, and that she now has an established meal service. I’ll give her one more meal tonight.
I have a message from the Cattery to say they will call me about her tomorrow. I am hoping they will have a space for her and that I can catch her soon. Weak as she is, she is vulnerable to foxes who tend to take ailing or young cats.
Should I ever achieve a flat with a garden of my own, I think it will have to have a cat pen in it. These needy animals turn up too often, and a temporary place to keep them would be a relief.
It would be great if she is chipped and has just got lost, maybe frightened by fireworks in November. I want this story to have a happy ending.

17 thoughts on “Hoping for a Happy Ending

    • I am hoping they will have a space for her a pt the Cattery, she is becoming quite forward and I think I could catch her fairly soon. It would be great to get her to a place of safety in the next day if so.

    • Probably we shall never know. If it is dry tomorrow and she is equally keen to come to me if I have food, I shall photograph her. She is evidently already feeling the benefit of having eaten.

  1. I know you will keep us posted. In the mean time, be assured that your beautiful golden boy looks wonderfull on my kitchen wall. I am enjoying the calendar immensely.

  2. Hoping for a very happy ending. Happy New Year. I think that Twitter increase followers was a ruse, Isobel and I am sorry for passing it on to you. I thought it was a good way to promote my blog. Sticking to the followers I have and not searching for meaningless “follows”
    Happy New Year to you. We still feed two feral cats. HAve a house made in the garage for them to keep warm in these severely cold winter days and nights.

    • We have had a bit of a love fest this morning while she had breakfast. A slight disagreement about quantities. She would eat everything. She purred quietly and I was able to get a better look at her.
      Like you, I am not interested in meaningless ‘follows’.

Leave a Reply

