Hurrah for Health!

First a gratuitous picture of MasterB:
Cosy
Now on with the post.
A long time ago in my giddy youth I had a few days with very little sleep and a lot of boat travel between various places in Greece and the heel of Italy. The memories are hazy, but I do remember when we disembarked at Brindisi quite late one evening how the ground seemed to come up to greet me. Since then I have experienced a milder version of the same after travelling on the sleeper between London and Fort William, or after several days aboard das Boot.
You’ll notice a travel theme here.
On Tuesday my only transport was Shanks’ Pony, but on Wednesday morning when I tried to get out of bed, the room span and the floor tilted menacingly. I sat down and tried again after a few seconds. This time I moved more slowly, but the effect was still there. When I walked to the bathroom it felt like my feet did not know how to connect with the ground, but when they did, shuddering echoes stormed up like sand disturbed by giants.
It made me think of one of those films where footsteps ring out, overloud on damp cobbles in empty night time streets, or cartoons where the earth trembles and quakes as the ogre arrives at the village. If I moved my head too quickly I had to grab hold of something to stop myself from falling. Nausea came through me in a rush.
The challenge of two flights of stairs to let MasterB out, and then later back in, was scary to put it mildly, though I imagine my clinging on to the bannister rail might have looked quite comic to anyone watching. I didn’t dare go outside. The chances of falling over seemed horribly high. I had some writing to do, so I nested on the sofa and made slow progress with it, feeling very very sorry for myself.
I am not brave about illness.
Early in the day, I had emailed Octavia in reply to a message from her and described my symptoms. Labyrinthitis she reckoned, and advised I see a doctor. Miraculously a doctor came to me. Even more miraculously he had a medicine in his kit for my condition. After testing my blood sugar levels, peering into my ears, taking my blood pressure and listening to my heart, he confirmed Octavia’s diagnosis. Did I mention she’s a doctor?
The tablets should be taken three times daily. I recognised the name. Mother had to take them to help with her Menières Disease. I took the first one Wednesday night and went to bed. In the morning I felt immeasurably better. Magic medicine! The room still swayed, the carpet was not quite where I expected it to be, but eddies rippled out around me when I moved rather than thunderous, threatening Wagnerian cymbal clashes.
I stayed home and completed my feature.
This morning I had to go out to work, I was careful and it went well. This evening, I had a proper game with MasterB and even ran to the kitchen when I thought something might be burning. The hula hoop hasn’t been touched since Tuesday, but I reckon by Sunday it’ll be back in use.
Hurrah for Health!

20 thoughts on “Hurrah for Health!

  1. Ergh. Much empathy headed your way. I had an attack myself just the other day; took drugs and took to my bed. Next day fine. It is wonderful to be well again and I’m so glad you are, too.

  2. I know that’s a miserable feeling……my sister has Meniere’s and until they actually diagnosed it, she was afraid to do anything for fear of falling…..Anyway, glad you are taking meds Isobel!

    Pam

  3. Hi there!
    I’m glad you are back to health!
    Some weeks ago Husband had similar symptoms. With him they seem to be related to stress causing tension on his neck and shoulders

Leave a Reply

