Birds of a Feather

It’s a moot point if this will load. I appear to have an Internet connection, but not a strong enough one to allow me to access anything. But if that is the price of being at das Boot for the first time since last autumn so be it.
The spiders have taken over. I dislodged dozens of them this afternoon, but then I went ashore to chat with some friends and I think they all came back. There’s a huge one making a web across the ceiling right now. There are also lots of irritating insects so I am hoping the spider will eat well tonight.
Das Boot is dewinterised, the tank is full, and the engine has purred for a short while, meaning I have both hot water and and a flushing loo.
I was reluctant to start the engine. Grebes are nesting less than ten feet from das Boot. I was worried about disturbing them and letting the wee ones become supper for the pike whose nickname is Moby. Draw your own conclusions.

However, I was assured the grebes would not mind in the least, and so it proved. They have two babies and three more eggs. They seem to sit in shifts. The one not sitting fussily reinforces the nest with weed. The babies are fed with the utmost tenderness. I am cursing my decision not to bring the proper camera.

Tomorrow I shall go to see Aunt and take her for lunch at Reach where there is one of the best pubs in the world, then we shall come here so she can see the grebes.
Her objections to the amount of driving I shall have to do were swiftly beaten down, which indicated that she really wants to see this nest.
Believe me, I feel privileged beyond belief that it is beside das Boot. If MasterB so much as chatters at them, we shall have Words.

15 thoughts on “Birds of a Feather

  1. I want to see baby Grebes! We saw baby Avocets back in May with the proud parents. And baby Stilts. But now I want to see baby Grebes. Am I being too grebey?

  2. Wonderfully written story that put me in a happy mood so maybe I can now go to sleep. Pain and a husband who is dreaming of some sort of martial art has kept me awake. I hope you have a very enjoyable weekend – and please take a photo or two at the pub.

    • I hope sleep came and you are feeling rested.
      I slept very well, woke in the early hours to rain, woke later to bright sunshine. Now it is cloudy again. My outing with Aunt may be off.

  3. Glad you are seeing Aunt. I would want to see the nest too. CH and I once watched a family of ospreys! Those spider might, I say might, freak me out a bit and I was never found of cleaning up after them on the boat.. ick. The pub visit sounds like fun!

  4. Oh how lovely to hear more stories of Das Boast. I didn’t realise how I’ve missed these tales. You are a lucky lady with so much nature around you!

    • He may have watched them in the night, but I was asleep and oblivious. Today has been hot, and he has slept. We are both relaxing with a breeze through the open doors and windows, but there are people around, and he has not asked to go ashore.

  5. Glad you’re enjoying das Boot with your boy (and the spiders). Lovely about the grebes and happy to hear they aren’t bothered by sharing their area with you by the water. Enjoy your visit with Aunt and of course the pub (everyone enjoys a good pub visit!!!).

    Pam

Leave a Reply

