Of Fine Wine and Al Fresco Dining, Foreign Travel, and Biscuit Challenges

We’re in the dog days of summer. The nights are starting earlier; each morning brings the socks/no socks decision; the shops are groaning with summer’s harvest.

A couple of nights ago, Octavia and I enjoyed what may be our last al fresco supper of 2014 in her little walled garden. I made a beetroot risotto at home, and took it round in a saucepan with a quantity of cabbage ready to cook, and some vanilla ice cream. Octavia supplied the wine – a classy white number from Bourgogne – gorgeous raspberries freshly picked from her allotment, the setting and and all the rest.

Al fresco supper

Al fresco supper

The grey ninja came and went. We ate, drank and talked. Octavia is off today for a week in Croatia. She sent me this picture yesterday evening. Someone is not pleased about her holiday plans.

I'm coming too

I’m coming too

The ginger ninja is coming to terms with his new biscuit bowl. There was a programme on Channel 4 the other night about canine obesity. The health risks obviously applied to cats too (and humans, but that didn't stop me eating a huge portion of chocolate cake last night). I went online and found Catch, an interactive feeder which promises that it “turns your cat’s meal into a fun interactive game.”

MasterB might take issue with the ‘fun’ word. It took twenty four hours for him to eat one day’s biscuits. For most of those hours he ignored it bar the odd less than half hearted attempt to get a biscuit. When he had to work it at you could almost see him deciding it was better to stay hungry. I decided on a change of tactic, and brought it into the siting room. That’s where we play most, so if he was ever going to think it was ‘fun’ and cooperate in this weight loss ruse I needed make it more attractive.

It seems to have worked. True, he stalked me to the kitchen and when I sprinkled his wet food with three or four biscuits he cleaned the bowl, but fingers crossed, I think we’re getting there.

And this is?

And this is?

Studying the problem

Studying the problem


Too exhausting for words

Too exhausting for words


Gotcha!

Gotcha!

This one

This one

Getting good at this

Getting good at this

23 thoughts on “Of Fine Wine and Al Fresco Dining, Foreign Travel, and Biscuit Challenges

  1. Love the new food challenge for MasterB – looks like he approves of it now that you relocated it to the “play area” instead of the eating area! Puts a different light on the whole thing for him I suppose. Nice final al fresco meal too – looks delicious……summer is fading……

    Pam

  2. I would be quite depressed with a plate of cabbage in front of me…insert: [and then we consumed two lovely big juicy steaks with chips and gravy]

    …I always enjoy the cats, atb

  3. Oh My Isobel this is too funny! I love your captions. Love the 2nd and 3rd picture of the Ginger Ninja! Your alfresco dinner sounds delightful. We love eating in the fresh air and I am hoping for a good two months of it after we get past this heat wave. September and October are my favorite times to share a bottle of wine with friends and family and eat outdoors.

    • He may be trying to hypnotise it in the second photo.
      We may get a last blast of warm weather. Someone told me that this cool patch is due to hurricane Bertha.

  4. ok, i will try that again. feel free to delete the video above. it is quite fascinating, however it is completely off topic. i somehow had managed to copy the wrong link. here we go, and i really hope this is it:
     

  5. I’ve never seen a feeder like this one. We have a very (tubby) kitty here that could use one of those. Also the other video is very fascinating. I’ve seen it before so just leave it there.

  6. I wonder how the feral cats we feed would react to this challenge. A really great concept. Do let us know how it works, on going. Thanks for the bday comment for Michael πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

