Goodnight November

Earlier in the year, when the spring winds were frisky and the temperatures were rising, I published this picture:

Washing

Washing

November’s winds are not so frisky, but the temperatures today were kind enough for line dried washing.

November Washing

November Washing

Octavia’s sister was here for the weekend, and the idea was that I should join them and go to Chelsea Physic Garden. However, both sisters wers distracted by wine purchasing possibilities, and by the time we reached Chelsea it wasn’t far off closing time at the garden.

Instead we decided to look at some of the Christmas lights. Octavia was driving, and these pictures were taken through the car window. I was in the back seat, so although I could see the lights, some arranged in the trees to look like mistletoe, others like snowflake crosses hanging above the middle of the streets, photographing them wasn’t really an option. Harrods’ was lit up in its usually gorgeous and vulgar way, so unless you looked at the window displays you might not notice anything out of the ordinary.

But it was Peter Jones that charmed. Part of the John Lewis group, their Christmas ads have become part of the season’s anticipated entertainment.

This year’s features penguins.

Which background info may help you understand these windows, complete with a bra-wearing penguins and silhouettes of genuine shoppers.

This post brings me to end of the month long challenge of NaBloPoMo. I missed the first day, and joined in thanks to the example set by JanH.

Tomorrow is December and the festive season is upon us. As the late, great, Dave Allen used to say, goodnight, and may your god go with you.

16 thoughts on “Goodnight November

  1. I enjoyed the John Lewis advert, but I’ve also enjoyed the spoofs 😀

    Have you got back into the daily blogging habit or are you going to return to a less frequent posting? Hats off to you for making it!

  2. That’s the sort of window display I’d like to see. Sadly I’m led to believe there is no John Lewis in Manchester other than at the Trafford Centre whch I’ve never been to. I do need to go to Manchester and take some photos.

    • Where is the Trafford Centre? Obviously new since my time in Manchester.
      As each year friends agree to scale back Christmas presents and I find shopping so much nicer having just a few gifts to buy, but Oxford Street is off limits until the January sales are over.

      • To be honest I’m not quite sure. Not in the centre of Manchester, that’s for sure, and I’ve been past them queuing to get into it on the motorway. I gather that happens a lot. It’s one of these cathedrals to retail with a thousand (?) shops under one roof. A lot of it looks very gaudy and it has domed roofs and everything. Very popular with a certain type. They’ve even filmed the Apprentice there, once, if that means anything to you.

        • Well I do know the progarmme, but I don’t watch it. I am not a great TV watcher, probably because my TV is too small and it is a distraction in the corner of the room rather than something to relax and enjoy.
          Anywhere where pople are queueing to go shopping should be avoided in my opinion, but then the fascination with shopping is an anathema to me.

  3. congrats on daily posting! good for you. that video was delightful – what a great way to end your series.
     
    clothes on my line would be frozen stiff! haven’t made it to above-freezing temperatures for a couple of days now. Timmy’s kind of weather – because it means he can snore in front of the fireplace 🙂
     
    Happy December to you!

  4. What a wonderful post to start my Monday morning. I have so much to do that I have been putting off. Here is to a good first week of December for both of us.

Leave a Reply

