Of Pets and Poetry

Yes, I can go on holiday. Hurrah.

Maybe there’ll be a film, When MasterB Met Julie, and you’ll see a slomo sequence where the two of them see each other for the first time: his perfect gingerness on the stairs in his purple velvet collar from Poundland, Julie proffering treats before I told her he wasn’t allowed them.

He happily showed her how he gets his treats from the catcher; played with the feathered stick when she waggled it; allowed hmself to be petted; sniffed her coat intently and tried to climb into its sleeve. In short, he liked her.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When she left he went outside and bounced about doing cat stuff while I hung out the washing and then went back indoors. I had lots of work to be getting on with, but frittered the day. I did search out some poems for Thursday night’s meeting. The theme is women, and I know Celia is looking at Carol Ann Duffy’s wonderful collection The World’s Wife. So I looked elsewhere.

Over the years, I must have read most of the poems from the two books of poems I have by Joan McBreen at poetry group, and Thursday will not be an exception. I have a cheeky one by Paul Durcan called Sister Agnes Writes to Her Beloved Mother, and I am still hesitating over Margaret Thatcher Joins the IRA. Naturally I have one by Sophie Hannah where the BVM is questioning the Health Visitor about how much to feed the infant Messiah. Then there is a poem by Eleanor Brown, Bitcherel; When You Are Old by Yeats; Rapunzstilskin by Liz Lochead; and a few others. There won’t be time to read all of them, and I still want to find the Gillian Clarke one called Six Bells about the woman hanging out her washing while beneath her feet there is a pit disaster.

Simon Armitage is going to be at an event at the British Museum 17th April. I can’t work out from the blurb if it’s just a discussion or if he’ll be reading some of his work. Either way, I think it’s something I’d like to go to.

I finished reading Endal by Allen and Sandra Parton. Endal, in case you have never heard of him, was an assistance dog who had more than his fair share of emotional intelligence, and who saved the Partons’ marriage and enabled Allen, a naval officer who sustained head injuries resulting in memory loss and paralysis, to come to terms with his new normal and enjoy life again. As a piece of literature I wouldn’t recommend Endal. I bought it some time ago with the thought that it wouod make easy inflight reading, but then read something else. For me, a book called Endal should be mostly about the dog. It was well over the halfway mark before he became the main subject. I have never been attracted to those True Life stories about people. That might be saying more about me than I should be giving away.

But Endal’s story is part of the reason I sponsor a Hearing Dog for the Deaf. Assistance dogs are so amazing, and Endal was truly exceptional. Let me state here and now that if I ever suffer sight or hearing loss, become chair bound for whatever reason, I want an assistance dog.

Julie had been talking about a problem she was having with her own cat, so that was an excuse to look at first rayyathevet.com, then petethevet.com, and to watch the videos of the adorable and very lucky Finzi, rescued by Pete when she was at death’s door.

So not the productive day I had mapped out, but an enjoyable one, and now I have some walking holidays to check out, and my next book is to hand, A House for Mr Biswas by V S Naipaul. A pretty good way to round off the evening .

5 thoughts on “Of Pets and Poetry

  1. So pleased MasterB and Julie liked one another, Isobel. Maybe now you can plan a little trip to our part of the world as well as your walking holidays. Sometimes I think we need just to be and to enjoy rather than be productive. Probably exactly the sort of day you needed after your long, tiring day yesterday.

Leave a Reply

