Serendipitous Boat

So much in life seems to be down to luck, to chance, to random and quite unpredictable circumstances and encounters.

If Cat hadn’t had died when he did, I shouldn’t have been looking at sites with cats needing homes, and looking at them with my friend Sue across the pond. My search was restricted to London. Sue, in Houston was looking at a larger canvas. It was she who spotted MasterB.

Oh Happy Day!

The Director

The Director


If Mother had not nursed geriatrics and thus become more aware than most of how many people become trapped in houses where they cannot manage the stairs, my parents might not have moved to a pre-need bungalow in East Anglia when they retired.

Had Mother not moved into sheltered housing I shouldn’t have been forced to think about where I could stay when I visited her. Had I had a higher salary, I might have been able to afford a second home nearby. As it was, the solution I found was a boat. My boat. Das Boot. My twenty-five foot floating home from Home.

I hesitate to link this to the weekly photo challenge – I have already put up two posts there this week – but despite my continuing ignorance about boats, my landlubber’s distrust of wobbly pontoons, and the expense of maintenance and mooring fees, being afloat for a thee or four days every few weeks throughout the season (I no longer stay there in the depths of winter) contributes materially to my mental health and wellbeing.

These photos, taken over the weekend, may help to explain why.

Morning Coffee

Morning Coffee

Bullrushes

Bullrushes

Across the Fields

Across the Fields

Bales

Bales

 Afternoon at the Marina


Afternoon at the Marina

Nelson

Nelson

Spritzer

Spritzer

Dinner

Dinner

Twilight

Twilight

Last Light

Last Light

Just magical. And proof of silver linings.

8 thoughts on “Serendipitous Boat

  1. All around lovely. I am quite enjoying catching up on your August. I’ve also been thinking a lot lately about the unpredictability of life and where chance events and certain decisions lead us.

    • Yes, we tend to make plans and think there will be a perfect time when the decks are clear, ours lives are ordered, only to find that life continues to be a messy and unpredictable business. I am just on the verge of committing to buy a new kitchen. I dread the disruption, need to find MasterB a place to stay while the noise is going on, but one of these days I am going to come home to find the sink on the floor. My kitchen is literally falling apart.

Leave a Reply

