Tile We Meet Again

Off on the bike today to Vauxhall. It’s only a couple of miles away, maybe less, but it represented the longest ride I have taken on my bike since smashing my wrist. I still have an exaggerated aversion to cars being anywhere near me, but slowly slowly, I hope my hours in the saddle will increase.

My mission was to return some of the tile samples I bought last week and to look at further possibilities. Nothing yells out to me, and to complicate things, I have three rather lovely hand made tiles by Sue Hoar I should like to include, but they are a dfferent size to any I have seen for sale.

Hand Made Tiles by Sue Hoar

Hand-made tiles by Sue Hoar

Even if I could afford to cover the whole wall with them, Sue has now moved to Cyprus, so the logistics are tricky.

Not the same size

Not the same size

I may make a feature of them separately, so if I should ever move, I could at least take them with me. MasterB watched mystified as I placed the tiles on the rug, aka the play rug, and looked at them. What sort of game was this? Nowhere near as much fun as the feather on the fishing rod pole.

At the moment I am leaning towards these cream tiles. You may not be able to see from the photo, but they have a, to me, pleasing ripple on the surface.

Cream tile

Cream tile


They are larger than the others I have been looking at, but they are being discontinued, so there is a question mark over whether I could get enough of them.

The smaller tiles are also described as cream, but I think they are a bit more lemony. Again, I like the surface.

Different shades of cream

Different shades of cream


Little cream

Little cream

The little tile also comes in a deep green. Maybe predominantly cream tiles with some green ones arranged randomly. Apparently contrast is the big thing, and my cupboards are going to be cream, the work surface speclked but pale, and when I eventually find the paint for them, the walls will be a very pale green. Maybe I should be thinking of green and cream check. Perhaps not.

Little green

Little green

Green and cream

Green and cream

Last week, I bought these samples. I was surprised when I brought them home to find I rather liked the bright green, so they are still a possibility, though falling down the list at the moment. There isn’t a cream tile in this type, so it would have to be predominantly white, probably with a green tile every three or four on one row only. The dotty ones are fun, but I am unconvinced.

I had more or less settled on the floor, until I had a conversation with a neighbour who warned about ceramic and porcelain tiles cracking. The sales assistant was reassuring, and I still like them.

Porcelain floor tile

Porcelain floor tile

But I thought I should check out the laminate while I was there. I originally wanted slate, but it is so unforgiving if you drop anything, as well as being bloody cold underfoot in winter. So as you can imagine, I was very interested when I saw this.

Fake slate

Fake slate

The fake wood didn’t look bad either.

Fake wood

Fake wood

Then the Henley range caught my eye, and I knew it was time to leave.

The shop almost next door had some gorgeous floor tiles that I find I am still thinking about this evening, so it looks like my delivery charges could be increasing.

10 thoughts on “Tile We Meet Again

    • Today I am definitely leaning towards the fake slate, maybe with the small creamy lemony tiles, but I should like to see them next to the cabinets first.

  1. I used an engineered ceramic tile in two baths and love it. It is warmer in winter, softer than stone or ceramic tiles (for our aging joints), and more forgiving when something is dropped. I would think they would be available in GB.

    • Thanks Lyn. No, I am finding it much harder than I ver imagined. When I had my bathroom done, I knew exactly what tiles I wanted, it was just a question of finding them.

  2. It’s great to have all those choices that they give us now but I need to hold my choices down to just two or three or I am overwhelmed. I like ceramic tile on the floor but we have had issues with grout. Those hand-made tiles are sweet.

Leave a Reply

