For Lee the Boilerman

I’ve been having ‘phone problems. My mobile has decded not to communicate with the SD card. Neither will it communicate with my laptop. It says it is full when I know it is not.

The shop around the corner where they rescued the contents of a defunct memory stick a few months ago did their best.

A trip to an EE store in High Street Ken confirmed my fears: my mobile had lost the plot.

Back at the corner shop, they offered me two mobile ‘phones, both second hand. One was the same make and model as my wandering ‘phone. The other was an i-Phone 5. After some deliberation, I opted for the latter.

While they were swapping over my SIM and sorting out the bits and bobs, a man came in with a frozen ‘phone. I learned his name was Lee. Lee had evidently been trying for some time to get the ‘phone to work properly. The shop staff worked their magic and in less time than it takes to tell, his ‘phone was communicative once more.

The counter at the shop is small. You cannot be unaware of your fellow customers’ needs. Thus Lee advised me to get a stronger case, and endorsed the screen cover. He looks a bit shocked when I said my i-Pad has a military, sandstorm proof cover.

“My mother had dementia,” I said,”She picked at the tabs so much it isn’t sand storm proof any longer.”

His father, who is only sixty-five, is showing early signs of dementia.

Bloody hell.

Bambiesqueness was clearly etched on Lee’s face. Dementia is being talked about more now, we are starting to understand that while it is a cruel condition, there are things that can be done to alleviate the pain and confusion both of the sufferer and the sufferer’s family. But a diagnosis for both sufferer and family is still rather like being being told they have to go somewhere of which they have never heard and for which they do not have a map.

I gave Lee the address of this page. He seemed a warm, resourceful type, and I hope he drops by. He’s likely to have a demanding time ahead of him, and I am sure I’m not the only one who’s willing to lend an ear.

Good luck Lee.

One thought on “For Lee the Boilerman

Leave a Reply

