Some of Those Little Things

There is still a shocking amount of kitchen stuff in the sitting room; mostly cleaning materials, some of which I inherited from Mother; some almost ancient history; things forgotten and duplicated down the years.

Not a care in the world

Not a care in the world


How come I have so much black shoe polish? Do I even have any black shoes these days? Well yes, one pair, worn rarely and polished once a year if they are lucky.

Not quite the stuff I can put on e-bay.

My measuring jug collection is pretty impressive too. And if anyone needs some toaster bags, I’m your woman.

But anyway, now for some pictures.

Taps before Shard

Taps before Shard

This is how the kitchen wall units looked a week ago:

New wall units

New wall units


Here’s how they look today:
Wall cupboards

Wall cupboards

I think I have said how much I like the floor. They were the first bit of the new kitchen to be in place. Here they are pre-grout:

The floor

The floor


And today:
Floor tile heaven

Floor tile heaven

I like the corners too.

Fruit and wine

Fruit and wine


 A corner made for flowers


A corner made for flowers

A little bit of techno:

Cool

Cool

It’s not perfect. There are three scratches on the hob that I can’t shift; a drip from a joint under the sink that someone with stronger wrists might be able to fix in seconds; and a growing snagging list. But compared to the kitchen I had just two weeks ago, it’s pretty damn good.

18 thoughts on “Some of Those Little Things

  1. Waw! I feel happy for you, Isobel! It is so fine to have a new kitchen, and … to discover all these things you forgot you had, and are new to you again… 🙂

    Smoochies to your gorgeous cat.
    looloo

    • Not sure I am entirely ecstatic about my extensive show polish collection, or the doubles of treacle, camomile tea and beeswax furniture polish, but yes, it is nice to see some old friends afresh, and when I get to grips with the dishwasher, I hope I shall be using things in rotation.

  2. Great photos and again Master B is trying to scare us by sitting by the open window! It looks great and can see why you are so pleased and so high tech too! Happy decluttering….you can never have too many measuring jugs,

    • Yes he is on the outside window sill ignoring my blandishments and the rattling of biscuits. Just let me know if you’d like a measuring jug or two. I shall happily give them to you. 🙂

    • Thanks. I had a look at the other pictures I took of tiles and reckon a number of the others would have worked equally well, especially the Henley range, which was the moment when I knew I had to leave the shop…

  3. I love the floor tile… it is very close to the new tile we put down in our four seasons room this summer. We spend all our time in that room and I love looking at the tile. Your kitchen is beautiful and I would pick those cabinets for my kitchen! MasterB cracks me up… 😀

  4. Lovely all around but especially Master B with the faucet spout almost being a Picasso-esque tail. Speaking of the Master, we will be in your town in two weeks and we need to arrange some calendar v money exchange.

Leave a Reply

