Choices

This morning, before the rain started, I was walking along thinking how nice it would be to see Michèle. I looked across the road, and lo, there she was. She saw me too and we waved at each other before she crossed to my side, and we walked and talked for a few minutes, going into Marks and Spencer where I completely forgot what I wanted to buy, before arranging to meet up on Tuesday evening.

Entertaining himself

While I was away Cousin, as is her wont, began to probe me about places where I might move. She knows I hanker after a larger home with a private garden for MasterB and myself. How about Cambridge were Older Nephew lives? That’s almost as expensive as London I answered, and logged on to RightMove to prove my point. And found three properties which would do me, one very well, within my price range.

But do I want to live in Cambridge? I have no idea. The thought of starting again, making friends and contacts with whom I am comfortably at ease is daunting. How long would it be before I would see a Michèle on the other side of the road? I’m not someone who minds her own company; indeed I relish and value my time alone, but choosing to be alone is quite different to not knowing anyone well, not having friends who are companionable, people who share the same values and interests.

Making friends

And it’s not London. The social and ethnic diversity of my neighbourhood is something I enjoy. I love having theatres, museums and galleries on my doorstep; a wealth of cultural events it’s easy to take serenely for granted in the capital. Next week Lambeth, the neighbouring borough, starts a history month, most of the things on the programme are free. Then there’s Totally Thames, and London Open House Weekend. Much as I love being in the country for a while, after all it’s where I grew up, my heart now beats to London’s rhythms.

Singular

But the thought of Cambridge lingers. Celia and I are going for a recce, probably once I am back from New Zealand. I’ll ask Older Nephew what he knows about book groups, poetry meet ups, find out if the natives are friendly or standoffish, if social class is clearly defined or more fluid.

7 thoughts on “Choices

  1. Who among us doesn’t ask this question? A friend suggested we retired to the UK – I don’t think you’d take us.

  2. have a lovely time in New Zealand. I have a fellow feeling for your dilemma as moving up to Yorkshire is an idea that’s been in my mind for – quite literally – decades but keeps receding into the distance because of a combination of circumstances and all the friends I would be leaving behind.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.