Chubby Women

Public art is a wonderful thing, and just by City Hall in SE1 there has been a fabulous and temporary exhibition by a Chinese artist of Chubby women.

If, like me, you feel your bikini days are over, that even shadows are unwelcome let alone full length unflinching mirrors, these are sculptures that make you reassess less than perfect flesh.

Chilling With Admirer

Chilling With Admirer

Cycling

Cycling

Dancing With Dog

Dancing With Dog

Fighting

Fighting

Kissing

Kissing

Skateboarding

Skateboarding

The fifteen rotund women by Xu Hongfei were attracting lots of attention when I saw them on Monday. I was with a group of adults and teenagers. We all loved them. Our faces were wreathed in smiles. Visitors stood by them and held onto them while their friends took photographs. For once, Tower Bridge was not the centre of attention.

I don’t know where where the touring exhibition is off to next, but it’d be worth finding it if it’s in your vicinity.

The exuberance, freedom, and gleefulness these sculptures express may not get me back in a swimsuit anytime soon, but I may be a little bit more accepting of my increasingly wobbly flesh.

30 thoughts on “Chubby Women

  1. I don’t know if you noticed, Isobel, but it seems that a couple of them were clad in something less than swim suits. No need to worry about what you look like in a suit. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.