Diaries, 29th January 2024, Out and About

I had my longest walk today since I had my surgery four months ago. It was a walk with a purpose. Over the last few months I’ve been collecting a bag of things to go to the textile recycling, plus a pair of shoes and some electrical bits and pieces I didn’t give to Ahmad at All about Phones to take care of. It’s only about two miles away, so not much further than Pipoca and I walked there and back twice recently. But unlike Pipoca, this time I wouldn’t be having a good lunch and sitting at a table for a while. I had a back up plan. If need be I could come home by bus.

On Saturday I joined neighbours for the monthly chinwag in the square’s garden. We stood around for about an hour and half. Then Celia and I went to Pipoca for lunch and to get some refills of this and that. In the evening there was another gathering of neighbours at Wendy’s house for a house cooling. Wendy died a year ago, and her house now cleared, is sold subject to contract. We stood in the small kitchen with our drinks and nibbles. It was bittersweet. But all that standing and no ill effects made name feel quietly confident I could get to the recycling centre and back today.

I took the route through Burgess Park. If you have seen the Lloyds Bank advert with a herd of black horses running through a green space you’ll have seen Burgess Park. Admittedly it doesn’t usually look that romantic. There were no horses today. I went after lunch, around two o’clock, so no school children either. Some people exercising, some dog walkers, a few amblers. The crows were busy on one stretch of grass then a few yards on it as the starlings who were in residence. My attention was caught by a dog standing very still. A lurcher, she was wearing a harness, but at first I couldn’t see her owner and I wondered if she might be lost. Then I realised she was focused on a squirrel several yards away. Slowly slowly she advanced, raising a paw and holding it in the air then gently placing it on the ground. Her tail was up, her neck extended. The squirrel seemed oblivious and was nibbling something it had unearthed. Her owner, presumably inured to his dog’s behaviour, stood some way off, looking up from his ‘phone from time to time to check on her. I stopped to watch. Then two walkers, their attention caught by my attention, stopped too. David Attenborough eat your heart out. It was as gripping as any natural history programme. As the dog drew nearer she seemed to relax, she was only a yard or so away when the squirrel realised it was in danger. It stopped eating and raced for the tree. The dog sprang after it. Too late. I was glad. Much as I enjoyed the drama, I didn’t really want to see a squirrel being killed.

Out of the park and onto Glengall Road where there is a fair amount of building going on. I made my way down to Bird on Bush Road, then Commercial Way where the housing ranges from grand, reminders of the area’s wealthier past, to tower blocks, reminders that Southwark was, maybe still is, the country’s biggest landlord. At the junction with the Old Kent Road a closed pub, closed for a very long time, still has the remnants of a frieze recalling how cattle were driven along this route. The nearby Chaucer’s Pilgrims Mural on the North Peckham Civic Centre, which now appears to be home to a church, similarly points to the road’s history. Now it’s best known for the being the cheapest property on the London version of Monopoly. Or if you are in the know, some very good Ethiopian restaurants.

My goods recycled, I walked along the main road for a couple of hundred yards then back down Glengall Road for home. I entered the park by a different route which took me around the lake. Some fisherfolk were there, shielded from view in their tents. There were coots, moorhens, some rather fancy ducks, as well as mallards. I could’t see any swans at first, then two swam out from the reeds. Geese, chased by a spaniel, landed noisily on the water. A cormorant flew over the lake. I’d hoped to see a heron, but I wasn’t lucky today. There were far more dog walkers than earlier. Some of the dogs looked as though they were on a mission. Others were enjoying a leisurely yet thorough sniff. It is still getting dark early, but not as early as a month ago. Today was mild, and it was easy to imagine walking here much later in a few weeks time.

At home, I got the ice pack from the freezer, wrapped it around my foot and stretched out on the sofa. My foot didn’t hurt at all, but I felt it a wise precaution. Now I’m thinking about where I want to walk next.

4 thoughts on “Diaries, 29th January 2024, Out and About

  1. Hurray – glad the walk went well. There were more cormorants on the lake when it was colder. But I haven’t seen the heron since the reeds were cleared from the floating islands. And now the building work – basketball courts – nearby is probably keeping them away.

  2. So pleased to read that you’re out and about properly again, Isobel. Must be lovely to feel the freedom of mobility again! It’s only when you don’t have it that you appreciate that mobility is a truly *wonderful* thing!

    We were driving along a bit of Old Kent Road on Sunday! Took the grandchildren to the Cutty Sark and the Planetarium at Greenwich. I love the Cutty Sark so that was a treat for me too!

    I noticed that the National Maritime Museum is free, so might head there next time if it’s not too tedious for under 10’s.

    Fingers crossed for your continued progress and good weather to enjoy the walks!

    • Sorry, I only just saw this. There’s always lots to see and do at the Maritime Museum. I think they have family trails, and for the gorier you can see the coat Nelson was wearing when he was shot – tiny bullet hole – and his blood stained stockings. Probably someone else’s blood that was on the deck. Greenwich Park is also a dog lover’s paradise as loads of dogs are exercised there.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.